The Mirror Chapel
The chapel, originally consecrated to the Annunciation of Our Lady, was later given its present name because of the unusually copious use of mirrors in its decoration, not only on the walls but also on the vault. It was built by the Latin Major Marian Sodality at their own expense in the years 1722-1726. The architect of the chapel has not been convincingly determined yet, František Maxmilián Kaňka and also Kilián Ignác Dientzenhofer might be considered. The ceiling fresco in five parts, made by Jan Hiebel in 1723, was inspired by the Marian prayer Ave Maria (Hail Mary). Also the four oil paintings by Václav Vavřinec Rainer correspond to the consecration of the chapel, to the Annunciation of Our Lady. Two Baroque organs, the masterpieces of the organ builders of the 18th century, belong to the unique furnishing of the chapel. Original is the organ on the organ loft, constructed probably in 1732 by the Jesuit organ-builder Tomáš Schwarz. The Baroque organ, built on the place of the original main altar (disappeared after the secularisation in 1784), comes from Svatobor near Doupov and was moved there subsequently (in the 1950s). The chapel is entered through a Classicist annexe designed by Matthias Hummel. Its construction restored the lost structural integrity of the wing. Thanks to its richly designed interior with its impressive combination of marble, mirrors, gilded stucco decoration, frescoes and paintings, the Mirror Chapel is one of the greatest treasures of the Klementinum.
We are pleased to offer the beautiful and unique space of the Mirror Chapel for social, cultural and special event rentals.